sedentary hobbies?

I’ve had it in my mind (I think from my mom) that it’s a bad idea to spend too much time on sedentary hobbies, like knitting and reading, which I really enjoy, since I should be more active to stay healthy and happy.  For instance, couldn’t it be better for my weight loss to spend what little time I have exercising instead of reading? But, at least knitting keeps my hands busy, so that I can’t eat mindlessly, unlike when I’m reading or watching TV.  Maybe I should start knitting again.  I want to knit my youngest a striped ear-flap hat for next winter.  I got a pattern on Etsy, and finally bought some yarn for it, but I haven’t started it yet.

Although it’s been hard to find time in the evenings since my youngest daughter is up every 45 minutes, and one of us has to go in to help her back to sleep.  My daughters share a room and it’s been hard on all of us, I think.  I’ve heard from other parents that it will get easier when she’s around 18 months old, which is 7 months away!  My oldest didn’t start sleeping better until she was close to 2 years old.  Sigh. We had done some sleep training in February when my youngest was still in the co-sleeper in our bedroom, in preparation for moving her to the girls’ room.  That was hard, too, but worked out OK until we put them in the same room.  Now we’re back to holding her to soothe her to sleep because my oldest wakes up crying if she hears the youngest crying…

Maybe I’ll try to knit on my commute.  There’s a woman at my Weight Watchers meeting who knits during the meetings.

Do you have any strong opinions on sedentary versus active hobbies and activities?

One thought on “sedentary hobbies?

  1. When I’m feeling a little too sluggish while knitting, I’ll stand while working. I’m usually next to a table, that way my knitting is supported but I’m not just lazing about on my behind!

Leave a Reply

