tried OA yesterday

Yesterday afternoon I went to my first Overeaters Anonymous meeting.  I think I liked the vibe better than WW since there is more intense sharing, although I’ll need to get used to the higher power aspect.  I ordered some books and materials to read through and listened to the Step One podcast on the way to work this morning.

I cried a lot listening to other people’s stories and then got two people’s phone numbers at the end for support.  Going to check out another meeting later this week or next.  Interested in using the tools and learning more about the 12 steps and 12 traditions in order to help me learn to recover from binge eating.  I’m a little worried about whether I need to totally eliminate my trigger foods from my food plan, or whether I can ever learn to eat those foods in moderation.

Anybody else out there go to OA?  What worked for you?

Embed from Getty Images
5 thoughts on “tried OA yesterday

  1. I’ve been going to OA for about two weeks now and have lost nine pounds. During that time I have also “cheated” so I could have lost more. I think to be honest, you need to pretty much eliminate your trigger foods. I’m guessing you will not want them as you work the steps. Good luck to you. I have some archived info on my blog re: OA if you are interested. Hugs!

    1. Thanks lily. I’ve been listening to the OA podcasts since I wasn’t able to go to a second meeting this week. I’m still coming to terms with this higher power aspect…not sure how I feel about it yet. I haven’t been binge eating as much this week. Not sure if it’s because of the change in my meds, OA, or a new obsesssion/compulsion (more on that in a later post)…

  2. I just started. I’ve been to three meetings. I am trying to surrender to the process because I’ve tried everything else, and I’m so tired.

Leave a Reply

